De Finetti Award


  • Only PhD students who did not have their PhD at the time of the last SPUDM conference are eligible.
  • The PhD student should be the sole or first author and the work should be mainly that of the student. If co-authored, the paper is accompanied by a signed statement (PDF) from the co-author(s) to the effect that the student is credited as the primary source of ideas and the main author of this paper.
  • The paper can be either published or unpublished at the moment of submission for the de Finetti competition.
  • Submissions in dissertation format will not be considered, but articles based on a dissertation are encouraged.
  • Only one paper may be submitted per applicant.
  • There will be blind review. Applicants are asked for two versions of the submitted paper: an anonymous and a non-anonymous version.
  • The anonymous version should be formatted as a manuscript (i.e., not a published journal article) with figures and tables integrated into the text. Please remove names, affiliations, and author notes for blind review.
  • The non-anonymous version should contain names, affiliations, and author notes.

Former Winners

2023 Christian T. Elbæk Aarhus University, Denmark
2021 Mark Himmelstein Fordham University, USA
2019 Christina Leuker Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Berlin, Germany
2017 Johann Majer Leuphana University, Germany
2015 Jared Hotaling University of Basel, Switzerland
2013 Dan Raphael Schley Ohio State University, USA
2011 Shoham Choshen-Hillel Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
2009 Benjamin Scheibehenne University of Basel, Switzerland
2007 Xianchi Dai INSEAD, France
2005 Loran Nordgren Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2003 Greg Barron Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
2001 Martijn Willemsen Eindhoven Technical University, The Netherlands
2001 Nicola Bown University of Leeds, United Kingdom
1999 Mandeep K. Dhami City University London, United Kingdom
1997 Johanna Kordes-de Vaal Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1995 Peter Roelofsma Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands